California Riding Magazine • December, 2009

San Fernando Hunter Jumper Association 2009 Medal Finals

by Regina Antonioli

Competitors vied for five San Fernando Hunter Jumper Association Medal Finals at the Camelot Classic, Oct. 8-11 at the Earl Warren Show Grounds in Santa Barbara.

12 & Under Medal Finals

Kira Zelman, riding Orlando and trained by Elvenstar, nailed her work-off in the SFHJA 12 & Under Medal Finals and won the title, a SFHJA sponsored keeper trophy, the championship cooler, sponsored by Da Moor’s Feed & Tack, and had her named engraved on the original bronze perpetual trophy created by Raizy Goffman. Makala Lutz, trained by Michelle Pacyna, put in a solid work-off performance to nab the reserve championship. Her ride garnered a cooler from Da Moor’s and a leather halter sponsored by Jedlicka’s Saddlery of Santa Barbara.

Placing Rider Trainer
Ch. Kira Zelman Elvenstar
Res. Makala Lutz Michelle Pacyna
3rd Rachel Mair Stephanie Haney
4th Bella Hadid Rebecca Bruce
5th Sabrina Watson Jeni Brown
6th Elizabeth McGillivray Corrine Bevis
7th Hadley Boyd Corrine Bevis
8th Pilar Flournoy Far West
9th Tessa DeJong Angel Pitton
10th Brittany Katal Erika Henaghan

13 & Over Medal Finals

Kali Jelen, of Valencia and trained by Julie Van Loo, captured the SFHJA 13 & Over Medal Finals riding Crown Royale. Jelen answered all of the questions put to her by course designer, Mike Nielsen, and was so excited to see the course after her trainer Julie Van Loo had schooled her over a past Maclay course set at 2’6” at home. “It was so much fun to ride!” Alanna Bloomberg’s student Rose D’Anthes of Santa Barbara rode Touch Of Luck to the reserve championship honors for the second year in a row.

Placing Rider Trainer
Ch. Kali Jelen Julie Van Loo
Res. Rose D'Anthes Alanna Bloomberg
3rd Jane Kang Julie Van Loo
4th Lauren Ender Angel Pitton
5th Jessica Gooding Michelle Pacyna
6th Karen Schemm Michelle Pacyna
7th Julie Price Michelle Pacyna

17 & Under Medal Finals

Deni Hird narrowly won the SFHJA 17 & Under Medal Finals besting Lacey Early, who ended up reserve champion, as she did in 2008. Both riders train with Stephanie Haney and Chad Mahaffy in Chatsworth. The 17 & Under and 18 & Over Finals were judged by Jimmy Lee of Keswick, VA and Carleton Brooks of Encinitas. Lee said afterwards that both judges were touched when the top two riders held hands during the awards ceremony while waiting for the final results to be announced. “It was a great moment,” said Lee. “It doesn’t get any better than that! It was an honor and pleasure to judge such outstanding events!” Hird was thrilled with all the championship prizes, including the two bronzes, the monogrammed cooler, Missing Link Equine Supplement, and Sound Hoof Conditioner from the Phalen family. Trainers of the champions were not left out and received a $50 gift certificate from Valencia Sport Saddlery, and a horse massage from Rider’s Edge.

Placing Rider Trainer
Ch. Deni Hird Stephanie Haney
Res. Lacey Early Stephanie Haney
3rd Molly Peddicord Far West Farms
4th Mariah Hawes Betsy Woods
5th Savannah La Liberte Mike Hebert
6th Hannah Goodman Foxfield
7th Kayla Savard Rebecca Bruce
8th Ashley Fritzler Alanna Bloomberg
9th Henley Adkins Elvenstar
10th Ashlyn Matheus Mark Purcell

18 & Over Medal Finals

In the 18 & Over Medal Finals, Brian Wee, trained by Leslie Nelson of Santa Barbara, qualified by winning the last SFHJA qualifying class on Thursday, and then went on to take the Finals on Friday. He turned in a flawless work-off to solidify his top spot. Sydney Hlavacek zoomed up to the show from her college classes in Channel Islands to put together solid performances in all phases of the Medal competition to merit the reserve championship. Trained by Far West Farm, and riding Farmer, Hlavacek kept the pressure from getting to her and took home the reserve championship cooler from Da Moor’s and a high quality leather halter sponsored by Jedlicka’s. Proud mom Jill was on hand to cheer her on.

Placing Rider Trainer
Ch. Brian Wee Leslie Nelson
Res. Sydney Hlavacek Far West Farm
3rd Shelly Lachow Foxfield
4th Christine Phillips Rebecca Bruce
5th Lori Quiett Carolyn Biava
6th Cheryl Child Julie Connor-Daniels
7th Laura Stiel Rainbow Canyon
8th Pam Rudell Michelle Pacyna
9th Caitlin Sweasey Heatherly Davis
10th Val Funfar Foxfield

Futures Medal Finals

Elizabeth McGillivray of Ojai, riding Downtown, made her trainer Corinne Bevis very proud as she bested a field of 30 to take home the championship in the SFHJA Futures Medal Final which was sponsored once again by Tonia Cook-Looker and Peter Looker. Thanks to the generous sponsors, Elizabeth left the arena loaded down with awards. Judges Rob Gage and Jimmy Lee commented on the challenging but fitting course created by Mike Nielsen, and how well the Futures riders rose to the task. Kayla Lott, trained by Elvenstar and mounted on Kif Kif d’elle, proved that consistency pays off by laying down two sharp over-fences rounds to stave off the efforts of a very strong field of riders to conquer the reserve championship.

Placing Rider Trainer
Ch. Elizabeth McGillivray Corrine Bevis
Res. Kayla Lott Elvenstar
3rd Melanie Selleck Foxfield
4th Clea Lerner Stephanie Haney
5th Jackie Zelman Elvenstar
6th Danielle Wiebe Foxfield
7th Mary Anastasi Elvenstar
8th Danya Carithers Michelle Pacyna
9th Madison Shack Elvenstar
10th Danica Dickison Nancy Frost

SFHJA Equine Insurance Challenge Medal

At the Flintridge Classic in late September, Molly Peddicord captured the first SFHJA medal finals of the year, besting a field of 22 to take the Equine Insurance Challenge Medal. Peddicord, who rides at Far West, rode her Loupino to a steady second in the first round then followed up with near perfection in the second round and work-off. Lacey Early, trained by Stephanie Haney, took home the Reserve. Donna Chopp of Equine Insurance was on hand to present the sponsored awards including the new crystal perpetual trophy, a bronze keeper trophy to the champion; coolers through third;
and saddle pads through 10th. The winner and the winner’s trainer also receive fabulous vacation getaways.

Placing Rider Trainer
Ch. Molly Peddicord Far West
Res. Lacey Early Stephanie Haney
3rd Jessie White Zehnder Foxfield
4th Stacey Bachller Jeni Brown
5th Allicyn Roy Rainbow Canyon
6th Bell Calkin Cyndi Merritt
7th Devon Manze Cyndi Merritt
8th Ashlyn Matheus Mark Purcell
9th Zoey Pacyna Michelle Pacyna
10th Hanna Goodman Foxfield

The final five of the San Fernando Medal Finals were held at the Camelot Classic. This exciting year-end event awarded 13 perpetual trophies. Other showcased competitions included the Camelot Hunter Challenge Finals won by Cirque Du Soleil with rider Kayla Savardin in the irons. The Ride and Drive was won for the second year in a row by Kristin Hardin, and the Zone 10 Children’s Pony Hunter Championship honors went to Taste The Rainbow, ridden by Donya Carithers.