March 2019 - Hooray For The Home Team
Written by CRM
Friday, 01 March 2019 02:01
PDF Print E-mail


California eventers stand out on the national stage.

Area VI riders received several national honors, which were presented at the U.S. Eventing Association’s Annual meeting in New Orleans last December. In addition, in year-end standings, Area VI members and their mounts finished in the top 10 on the leaderboards 67 times from the Beginner Novice Level up through Advanced, reports the association’s online newsletter at

The Concour Complet Trophy: Susan Friend-LeTourneur

The Concour Complet Trophy is awarded to an individual who performs an extraordinary act of courage. Susan received the award in honor of all the brave individuals who helped the horse community during the 2017 California fires.

DJ Stackhouse and Ellis USEA Adult Amateur of the Year: Frankie Thieriot Stutes
The Wilton Fair Grant, two grants for $6,000 each: Mia Farley and Madison Temkin
$10,000 Rebecca Broussard National Developing Rider Grant: Andrea Baxter
$50,000 Rebecca Broussard International Developing Rider Grant: Frankie Thieriot Stutes
The 2019 Young Adult Amateur Scholarship recipient: Kaley Sapper
5,000 Roger Haller Judge’s Grant: Wendy Wergeles
USEA Leading Advanced Adult Amateur: Frankie Thieriot Stutes
USEA Leading Training Intercollegiate Rider: Haley Abbet
USEA Leading Training Adult Rider: Mckenzie Rollins
USEA Leading Training Adult Amateur: Kim Miner
USEA Leading Beginner Novice Junior Rider: Sophie Merz

Emerging Athlete List-Makers

Area VI also had eight riders named to US Equestrian’s Emerging Eventing Athletes 18 and 25 lists. The program aims to identity and nurture athletes with the aim of competing at the highest level of the sport as high-performance athletes representing the U.S. on an international level. Many are familiar as Area VI North American Young Riders Championships representatives.

Area VI riders on the U25 list are Mia Farley, Mallory Hogan and Madison Temkin. Those on the U18 list are Charlotte Babbitt (see story, page 36), Brianna Maroney, Margaret Pellegrini, Sophie Tice and Delaney Vaden.