February 2019 - It’s Awards Season
Written by CRM
Friday, 01 February 2019 02:45
PDF Print E-mail


Hunter/jumpers celebrate 2018’s show ring accomplishments & special contributors to the sport.

Hollywood’s Golden Globes were not the only glamorous event going on in January. Horse show organizations throughout the state hosted their annual awards banquets celebrating 2018’s competitive accomplishments and honoring special contributions and people.

We were honored to attend the California Professional Horsemen’s Association’s awards banquet Jan. 4 in San Diego and grateful to have Tish Quirk covering the Pacific Coast Horse Shows Association’s banquet the next night.

Along with seeing everybody gussied up and not in their barn or show wear for a change, these get-togethers share neat stories behind the successes of people at every level and stage in the sport.

Here’s some highlights:

Holly Scapa and Paul Bennett present awards to Mandy Porter: Gary Ryman Memorial Award for Leading Grand Prix Rider. PCHA Grand Prix Horse of the Year sponsored by Michael Moran and EMO awarded to Milano.

Natalie Dean is the PCHA Leading Amateur/Owner Jumper Rider and her horse, Chacco’s Goldy is the Amateur/Owner Jumper.  In addition to the PCHA awards they earned the check and vest sponsored by Michael Moran and The EMO Agency. Michael Moran, master of ceremonies at podium.

The Friendship Cup is awarded to the PCHA Junior Jumper Rider of the Year.  The winner then names the person they choose to honor and present the duplicate trophy to that person.  Hannah Loly was the PCHA Junior Jumper Rider of the Year and she chose her trainer, Keri Potter.  Twenty-four years ago Keri’s family donated the original trophy and Keri was the first recipient.  She honored her trainer, Judy Martin with the Friendship Cup.

Lanie Walkenbach won the Junior Hunters 3’6” with Early August. She also won the 15-17 Hunter Seat Equitation Championship and the Region 3 Hunt Seat Equitation 17 and Under.

Adult Amateur Jumper, High Hopes rider: Tara Brown-Stocks; Green Hunters 3’6” Big Shot rider: Jenny Karazissis; Junior Hunters 3’3” Balletomane rider: Katalina Rickard; Children’s Jumpers, Hindee rider: Erin Nichols; Youth/Amateur Walk Jog Pleasure: Abby Bellini; Basic Ranch Riding: Camella Pratt.

PCHA Officers. Top: Archie Cox, president; L-R: Gina Groth, treasurer; Noopy Rodrigues, 1st vice president; Sally Hudson, secretary; Mike Edrick 2nd vice president.

Melissa Moore earned the Mildred Oker Memorial Trophy for High-scoring Amateur Rider Handler in Pleasure, Trail, Horsemanship and Showmanship.

Hall of Fame inductee Nick Karazissis, Sr., had most of his big Far West Farms family on hand to celebrate.

Devon Gibson (blue shirt) said her Dan Abbey Sportsmanship Award should be shared with the many professionals who’ve helped her through and since a broken back six years ago.

Jamie, Beth & Katie Taylor accept the Equine Lifetime Achievement Award for their late mare, Ruby Begonia.

lvenstar rider Kaitlyn Lovingfoss gave special thanks to her first trainer Carolyn Culligan while accepting her Special Achievement Award.

Kate Abajian celebrates her Junior Achievement honor with Lee Flick, one of her coaches at Bridgeport Farm.

Lanie Walkenbach receives a Junior Achievement Award from her coach Jim Hagman of Elvenstar.

Presenter Nick Haness remarked on Paige Dendiu’s great work ethic and attitude while presenting her with the Junior Horsemanship Award.

Patty Ball playfully let everyone know that her Lifetime Achievement honor did not in any way signify an end to her lifetime achievements.

Twelve-year-old Stella Wasserman’s magical year was recognized with a Special Achievement award, presented by her coach Archie Cox of Brookway Stables.

Jeff Katz explained that a life with horses and horse people still made him 'giddy' every day as he received the Horseman Of The Year honor from presenters Kathy Hobstetter of IJump Sports and CPHA’s Paul Bennett.

CPHA Foundation Equitation High Point winners & trainers Sophia Davis, Tasha Visokay, Madison Nadolenco and Jaime Krupnick, with Paul Bennett & Archie Cox

CPHA Adult Medals Final winner Shannon Davidson, with CPHA’s Ruth Frazier and Paul Bennett.

CPHA Junior Medal Finals Winner Emily Williams.

Blenheim EquiSports’ Stephanie Wheeler & HMI’s Sally Hudson were honored for great work and CPHA support as show organizers, as was West Palms Events’ Adrienne Karazissis.